EUROPEAN citizens in Oxfordshire can get help with their applications to keep living in the UK beyond June 2021 from Monday.

The county council will be assisting residents completing the ID verification process of the European Union Settlement Scheme (EUSS) at Oxford Register Office and 16 libraries across the county.

If Britain leaves the EU with no deal on October 31, residents have until December 31, 2020 to apply to the EUSS. They would have until June 30, 2021 if a deal is struck.

The scheme grants settled or pre-settled status to European Union, European Economic Area or Swiss citizens.

Read also: Figures reveal 'Brexit exodus' of EU NHS staff leaving Oxford

This enables people to work in the UK, use the NHS, enrol in education or keep studying, access public funds like benefits and pensions where appropriate, and travel in and out of the country.

Lorraine Lindsay-Gale, the council's cabinet member for cultural services, said: “We’re such a diverse county and I’m sure our European citizens will welcome this support from our libraries and Oxford Register Office.”

To apply, residents need a current valid EU, EEA or Swiss passport or a valid Biometric Residence Permit for family members of an EU, EEA or Swiss citizen.

Rikke Hansen, head of integration and improvement in community operations at the county council, successfully completed the EUSS process after moving to Oxfordshire from Denmark in 2013.

She said: “I decided to apply to the scheme as early as possible because I knew I wanted to stay in this country and I wanted to get it out of the way and get peace of mind that it was sorted."

Read also: Rock band cancels tour 'due to Brexit'

Citizens must complete an online application and scan their documents using a compatible Android phone or tablet, which can be done at any of the 16 libraries and the register office.

The service is available at the following libraries: Abingdon, Banbury, Bicester, Botley, Carterton, Cowley, Didcot, Headington, Henley, Kidlington, Oxfordshire County Library, Summertown, Thame, Wallingford, Wantage and Witney.

Users will need to bring their own mobile phone to accept a pin verification code as part of the process.