A COUNCIL leader has appointed her new cabinet following local elections.

The new West Oxfordshire District Council (WODC) cabinet comprises of:

• David Harvey, who has stepped up to become deputy leader and will retain his climate portfolio

• Jane Doughty, a new appointment, who has been handed a customer delivery portfolio which will range from equality to leisure facilities and community grants

• Suzi Coul, who moves from health and leisure to finance

See also: Dog walker says NHS owes her hundreds for her services

• Jeff Haine, who will now be responsible for all areas of planning

• Merilyn Davies, who retains housing and communities

• Norman MacRae, who remains in charge of environment

Read more: Latest court results for Oxfordshire

Also announced was the appointment of Martin McBride as chairman and Alex Postan as deputy chairman.

WODC leader Michel Mead said: “This is a very strong team combining vast experience with the aim of providing the best service possible to residents.

“I am excited about the future as we emerge from lockdown and look forward to embracing the many challenges ahead of us.

“Our priorities of tackling the climate emergency, supporting our local economy, helping build strong, healthy communities, delivering affordable housing and making sure council services are modern and efficient, remain and we will continue to work hard to deliver against those ambitions as a council.”