DUNCAN Lawrence was the first Oxfordshire runner to cross the line at the final round of the Chiltern Cross Country League.

The Headington Road Runner was 18th in a hotly-contested men’s race at Campbell Park, Milton Keynes, crossing the line in 29mins 21secs.

Lawrence was the fourth Division 2 competitor to finish at match five, while clubmate Fergus Campbell – another in the second tier – also impressed.

The V50 was second in his category, clocking 30.49 on his way to 45th.

There was success for Oxford City AC further down the field as John Exley took the V70 crown in 40.19, enough to finish 285th.

Teammate Stewart Thorp was the second V60 across the line in a time of 36.12.

In the women’s race, Faye Sharpley, of Thame Runners, was the pick of the bunch for the county in 16th.

Her time of 23.09 saw her finish runner-up among the Division 2 athletes and almost a minute faster than the next-best Oxfordshire runner, teammate Sarah Green.

Ros Kelling, of Banbury Harriers, was the second LV55, finishing 62nd in 26.03.

Elsie Jacobs claimed third place in the final Under 11 girls standings after achieving another podium.

The Bicester AC member finished third, her time of 5.48 just two seconds behind the winner.

Clubmates Owen Stocker, Joshua Smith and Robert Charlton also secured silverware, ending the team campaign second in Under 13 boys’ Division 2.

Elsewhere, Connor Morgan claimed victory by almost two minutes at the Newbury 5k.

The Abingdon AC runner completed the course in 20mins 37secs.

Clubmate Chloe Ridewood was eighth in the 10k race and the second-best woman, finishing in 41.40.



Under 11 girls

Bicester AC: 3 E Jacobs 5.48, 26 A Jones, 6.25, 36 A Busby 6.49, 66 M Evans 7.29.

Under 11 boys

Bicester AC: 42 G Mansell 6.22.

Under 13 boys

Bicester AC: 25 O Stocker 10.27, 39 R Charlton 10.49, 40 J Smith 10.49.

Under 15 girls

Bicester AC: 21 J Critchley 18.42.

Under 15 boys

Bicester AC: 56 Ben Groves 19.34.

Senior men

Abingdon AC: 16 T Lavender (U20) 34.24.

Bicester AC: 337 A Critchley 44.49, 367 J Charlton 54.01.

Headington RR: 18 D Lawrence 29.21, 45 F Campbell (V50) 30.49, 74 I Hewitt 32.09, 88 J Fenning 32.36, 100 T Wilner-Reid 32.52, 117 K Lowies (V50) 33.31, 134 D Bremner 33.55, 136 R Skilbeck (V40) 33.57, 149 R Thetford (V50) 34.35, 163 S Dales (V50) 34.55, 167 D Simpson (V50) 35.00, 170 A Walton (V40) 35.10, 184 A Phelps (V50) 35.55, 232 J Griffiths (V60) 37.56, 356 P Lister (V60) 48.47.

Witney RR: 63 M Lock 31.54, 340 S Roberts (V50) 45.01.

Senior women

Headington RR: 28 A Johnson 24.22, 30 R Shaw (LV35) 24.31, 38 S Power 24.55, 91 K Ratter 27.13, 124 H Turley (LV65) 28.34, 128 S Harding-Brown (LV45) 28.39, 157 N Hare (LV45) 29.54, 167 C Hanratty (LV45) 30.33, 222 S Leach (LV45) 37.23.


Abingdon AC: 1 C Morgan 20.37.


Abingdon AC: 8 C Ridewood 41.39.

Eynsham RR: 2 M Tyrrell (V40) 37.51.


Abingdon AC: 66 D Morgan (V45) 1.48.49.


Witney RR: 147 A Beardsley (V50) 1.59.08.